Record of decisions taken by an officer under Standing Order 54 – urgent SUR decision making



| Title: | COVID-19 Surrey County Council Response to Covid |
|---------------------|--|
| Divisions Affected: | All |
| Key Decision: | Yes |
| | |
| Reason Key: | Affects two or more Divisions |
| Decision taken | Standing order 54 – urgent decision making |
| under delegation | |
| by virtue of: | |

| Meeting | 19 March 2020 |
|---------------|-------------------------------------|
| date/time | 14:30-16:30 |
| Meeting title | Cabinet/CLT COVID-19 teleconference |

Summary

The Council is responding to the Covid-19 major incident and therefore needs to make urgent decisions to ensure that residents are protected. Urgent decisions taken at the above named meeting are listed below with reasons.

Decision made

Decision made:

It was AGREED that:

1. Libraries are to be closed by Sunday 22 March 2020

Reasons for Decision:

1. On 18 March 2020, the Prime Minister's statement on coronavirus advised that all "unnecessary gatherings" should be avoided. In line with government guidance to reduce the workplace and social distancing for everyone in the UK, it was decided to close Surrey County Council's libraries to help prevent the spread of the virus and reduce the risks to vulnerable people. This decision is consistent with how other county councils such as West Sussex and Hertfordshire are responding to the pandemic. The timing of the closure is designed to provide notice to

residents while still adhering to government guidance. Other measures such as promoting access to e-books are being developed as potential mitigations to the temporary loss of the library service.

| Decisions taken by: | Joanna Killian Chief Executive |
|-----------------------|-----------------------------------|
| Decisions taken on: | 19 March 2020 |
| To be implemented on: | 19 March 2020 |

Decision taken in consultation with

List those in attendance

Cllr Tim Oliver

Joanna Killian

Cllr Colin Kemp

Cllr Mary Lewis

Cllr Natalie Bramhall

Cllr Mike Goodman

Cllr Allison Griffiths

Cllr Mel Few

Cllr Matthew Furniss

Cllr Julie lles

Cllr Zully Grant Duff

Cllr Mark Nuti

Cllr Denise Turner Stewart

Cllr Sinead Mooney

Leigh Whitehouse

Katie Stewart

Rachel Crossley

Simon White

Jacquie Burke

Patricia Denney

Hannah Futter

Piali Das Gupta